Tea with Rose

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Shop for Inspiration

with one comment

Due to a slew of events and circumstances, Mother’s Day celebration is to be held at our nest this Sunday. We’ve decided on brunch and to be honest, I’m rather excited about the whole idea.

I’ve always wanted to cook a celebration meal for Mom but without a kitchen of my own, it was all too difficult to execute. So this year is the perfect time for me to cook for Mom.. hurray!

And to top it off, we are having a few cousins over as well, cousins from Malaysia and Taiwan. This doesn’t happen often, so I’m even more thrilled we are all gathering to spend some time together!

I love planning parties. And I like to tie things together with a theme of some sort, easier to work that way. Yet, amidst all the excitement for the party this Sun, I had no inspiration for this one. The fact that two of my cousins are strict vegetarians certainly makes things slightly more complicated.

Well you know, I have absolutely no issues going vegetarian. The challenge is feeding vegetarians and carnivores in the same setting. I’ll have to come up with a balanced menu for both groups without having to prepare too many dishes.. hmm.

So I kept making lists of possible items to prepare but they just didn’t fall into place. I couldn’t finalize anything, and by then it was time to head to the supermarket to grab a couple of things for dinner tonight.

And guess what? I’m convinced the best way to draw inspiration for a party is to go grocery shopping! Seeing what is in season and the different ingredients available really makes ideas flow better.

I saw beautiful ripened plums, pomegranate and berries and it struck me to feature all these lovely fruits for the party cos Mom simply loves fruits! I’m even inspired to do a red and blue color theme and decorate the buffet table in these deep hues! Alright, I have a picture in my head now, finalizing the menu should be easy =)

Note to self: Please do not over prepare and overkill. Make as many stuff in advance as possible. Keep things simple. Don’t kill yourself.

Written by rosemaryoong

May 7, 2009 at 3:40 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] As mentioned in one of my earlier posts,  […]


Leave a Reply

