Tea with Rose

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Striking a Balance

leave a comment »

Is the hardest thing to do. The older I get, the more I understand how difficult it is to walk the middle path. And it amazes me how this profound truth pervades every aspect of our lives – even housework.

All these years, I’m aware how much my mom does for the family but admittedly I’ve underestimated how much it takes to maintain a household for just two in a 86 sqm home!

Somehow the mess in the kitchen sink keeps accumulating, the laundry keeps piling, groceries run out, and before you know it, it’s time to change the sheets and bath towels…. the maintenance routine is a lot more work than I have imagined!

Fo a while, my approach was to clear all the home tasks first thing in the morning so I can get them out of the way. But that takes abit of time and I tend to get slightly carried away. And I thought I should put the fresh energy for the day to better use.

So I took on another approach – I will fit in house chores as and when I have time when I’m done with the more important stuff – which never happens. So things pile up and I end up with a disorganized and uninviting home when it’s time for the weekly cleaning.

Clearly, this didn’t work neither. It’s not nice to see things lying around, I really dislike the nagging feeling of chores waiting to be done and I’m TOTALLY exhausted when I try to get everything done all at a go!

My latest strategy: I ask myself “What’s the most pressing household task for the day?” Do a round of laundry? Clear the ironing? I make sure I clear that one task when I take a break from work during the day. This way, I get some chores checked without spending a huge chunk of time each day. I hope this works!

Written by rosemaryoong

April 29, 2009 at 12:07 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

